About AJVR

Editorial Board


Editor in Chief

Lisa A. Fortier, DVM, PhD, DACVS


Equine Surgery, Translational Medicine, Regenerative Medicine



Associate Editors

Jacqueline Chevalier, MSc, BSc

Cornell University, Student

Orthopedics, Osteoarthritis, Vascular Biology

Liara M. Gonzalez, DVM, PhD, DACVS

North Carolina State University

Equine Colic, Intestinal Stem Cells, Intestinal Hypoxia/Ischemia

Kristi Henderson, DVM


Regulatory Medicine, General Mixed Animal Practice, One Health

Adrien-Maxence Hespel, DVM, MS, DACVR

University of Tennessee

3D Printing, Artificial Intelligence, Radiology

Yava L. Jones-Hall, DVM, PhD, DACVP

Texas A&M University

Experimental Pathology, Animal Models, Digital Pathology

Frederick Kibenge, BVM, PhD, DACVM

University of PEI

Virology, Immunology

Jolle Kirpensteijn, DVM, PhD, DACVS, DECVS

Hill’s Pet Nutrition

Soft Tissue Surgery, Oncology

Karen Kline, DVM, MS, DACVIM

VCA Northwest Veterinary Specialists

Medical Neurology, Surgical Neurology, Infectious Disease

Andrew D. Miller, DVM  DACVP

Cornell University

Pathology, Comparative Pathology, Neuropathology, Oncologic Pathology

Theresa Ollivett, DVM, PhD, DACVIM

University of Wisconsin


Barrak M. Pressler, DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Western University of Health Sciences

Internal Medicine, Nephrology/Urology, Immunology

Carlos O. Rodriguez Jr., DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Veterinary Specialists of North Texas

Oncology, Chemotherapy, Drug Development

Jason W. Stull, VMD, MPVM, PhD, DACVPM

The Ohio State University
University of PEI

Epidemiology/Biosecurity, Zoonoses

Gussie Jane Tessier, DVM, PhD


Equine Medicine/Repiratory Physiology


Social Media Editor

Sarah Wright, DVM





Malinda Larkin, Senior News Editor
Katie Burns, News Managing Editor
R. Scott Nolen, Senior News Reporter
Anita Suresh, News Assistant Reporter
Rebecca Harris, Online Editorial Assistant

Administrative Staff

Karen L. Dodson, MBA, Editorial Manager
Stacey L. Geelan, Senior Administrative Coordinator


Nicholas T. De Luca, Managing Editor
Justin D. DeAre, Publications Technology Specialist
Julie L. McLearen, Senior Production Coordinator
William A. Mazur, Production Coordinator I
Victor Schultz, Senior Copy Editor
Tram T. Le, Copy Editor
Michelle A. Krieger, Copy Editor
Kristen M. White, Copy Editor
Rebecca Harris, Online Editorial Assistant
Christina M. Banks, Display Advertising Associate
Mark A. Williamson, Advertising and Subscription Fulfillment Associate
Rita E. Donnelly, Advertising and Subscription Fulfillment Associate


Diane A. Fagen, Librarian

AVMA Officers

Dr. José V. Arce, President
Dr. Lori M. Teller, President-Elect
Dr. Sandra A. Faeh, Vice President
Dr. Arnold L. Goldman, Treasurer
Dr. Douglas D. Kratt, Immediate Past President
Dr. Karen M. Bradley, Chair, Board of Directors
Dr. Ronald E. Gill, Vice Chair, Board of Directors
Dr. Janet D. Donlin, Executive Vice President
Dr. David E. Granstrom, Assistant Executive Vice President

AVMA District Directors

Dr. Karen M. Bradley, District I
Dr. Michael Q. Bailey, District II
Dr. Mary E. Ergen, District III
Dr. Seyedmehdi Mobini, District IV
Dr. Robert H. Knapp, District V
Dr. Ronald E. Gill, District VI
Dr. Charles A. Lemme, District VII
Dr. Sam Miller, District VIII
Dr. Melanie A. Marsden, District IX
Dr. Richard Sullivan, District X
Dr. Sandy Willis, District XI

Back to top

Business Information

Editorial Office

1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 847-925-8070, ext 6752
Fax: 847-925-9329
E-mail: AJVR@avma.org
Website: avmajournals.avma.org

Follow JAVMA and AJVR on social media at:







LinkedIn: linkedin.com/avma-journals

The American Journal of Veterinary Research (ISSN 0002-9645) is an on-line only fully Open Access Journal.

The American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), its Editor, Editorial Board, and publisher specifically disclaim any and all responsibility for the contents, advertisements, opinions, and other material contained in the Journal. Any statements or opinions about commercial products or services are solely the opinion(s) of the author(s) or advertiser(s) and do not represent AVMA endorsement of such statements, opinions, products, or services. The material presented in the Journal is for educational purposes only.


All manuscripts are published Open Access in the AJVR. Open Access articles will be licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC license..

Publication fee

Article Processing Charges for Open Access are $1200 USD if the first author or corresponding author is a voting or affiliate member of the AVMA and $1600 otherwise. For information on joining the AVMA or renewing your AVMA membership, please click here.

Display Advertising

For information on display advertising, contact Nathan Altadonna, Advertising Accounts Manager, at Alter Insights (phone, (405) 708-3895; e-mail, JAVMA_Sales@avma.org).

Classified Advertising

For information on classified advertising, contact our Classified Ad Department (phone, 800-248-2862, ext 6639 or 6640; fax, 847-925-9329; e-mail, classad@avma.org).

Back to top

AVMA Information

The American Journal of Veterinary Research is owned and published by the American Veterinary Medical Association.

AVMA Offices

1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 847-925-8070 or 800-248-2862
Fax: 847-925-1329

1910 Sunderland Place, NW
Washington, DC 20036-1642
Phone: 202-789-0007 or 800-321-1473
Fax: 202-842-4360

AVMA Partners

1931 N Meacham Rd.
Suite 106
Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone: 800-621-6360

PO Box 1629
Chicago, IL 60690-1629
Phone: 800-228-7548

American Veterinary Medical Foundation
1931 N Meacham Rd, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360
Phone: 800-248-2862, ext 6690

Back to top