American College of Zoological Medicine – Nov. 7, 2022

Published: 21 February 2023



Virtual annual meeting, Nov. 7, 2022


Dr. Murray Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Carpenter
Dr. James W. Carpenter

Dr. James W. Carpenter (Oklahoma State ’74), Manhattan, Kansas, won this award given for exceptional commitment and contributions to the ACZM while making significant lifetime contributions that have advanced the discipline of zoological medicine. A diplomate and a past president of the ACZM, Dr. Carpenter is a professor of zoological medicine at Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine. As a clinician and researcher for almost five decades, his work has included research on the pharmacokinetics of antimicrobials and analgesics in zoological species, clinical medicine, and parasites. Dr. Carpenter led the development of an internationally recognized training program in zoological medicine at Kansas State University. A co-editor of Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery and editor of the Exotic Animal Formulary, he has also served as editor for the Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine and the Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery. Dr. Carpenter is a past president of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians and Association of Avian Veterinarians.

ACZM Student Manuscript Award

Dr. Raulic
Dr. Juliette Raulic

Dr. Juliette Raulic, Montreal, won this award for the manuscript “Pharmacokinetic, pharmacodynamic, and toxicology study of robenacoxib in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss).” Dr. Raulic is a clinical instructor in zoological medicine at the University of Montreal.

President’s Award

Drs. Jennifer Langan, Chicago; Lisa Harrenstien, Portland, Oregon; Krista Keller, Urbana, Illinois; and Jonathan Sleeman, Madison, Wisconsin

New diplomates

Jessica Aymen, San Francisco; Karine Beland, Montreal; Kyra Berg, South Weymouth, Massachusetts; Joao Brandao, Stillwater, Oklahoma; Lara Cusack, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; Daniel Cutler, New Orleans; Eva Dutitre, Bellevaux, France; Ronan Eustace, Charlotte, Michigan; Melissa Fayette, Indianapolis; Rachel Ferris, St. Louis; Shawna Hawkins, Madison, Wisconsin; Gail Huckins, Portland, Oregon; Lauren Kane, Pittsburgh; Spencer Kehoe, Denver; Kyra Knutson, Paramus, New Jersey; Anna Martel, Madison, Wisconsin; Alissa Mones, Virginia Beach, Virginia; Adriana Nielsen, Dubai, United Arab Emirates; Cameron Ratliff, McKinney, Texas; Jessica Robertson, Los Angeles; Danielle Tarbert, Davis, California; Rachet Turner, Birmingham, Alabama; and Thomas Louden Wright, Sioux Falls, South Dakota


In 2022, the college administered the annual qualifying and certifying examinations virtually, updated the analysis of job tasks, and added a member at large to the executive committee. Dr. Claire Erlacher-Reid, San Diego, was elected to serve as the member at large, representing the discipline of aquatic animal health. The ACZM Wildlife Ad Hoc Committee, established to increase wildlife veterinary professionals’ awareness of and participation in the college, was transitioned to the Wildlife Population Health Working Group. The ACZM administered two examination preparation courses during 2022, conducted in a hybrid in-person and online format.


Drs. Doug Whiteside, Calgary, Alberta, president; Christopher Bonar, Boston, vice president; Jennifer D’Agostino, Oklahoma City, secretary; Gretchen Cole, Oklahoma City, treasurer; and Jennifer Langan, Chicago, immediate past president