American Association of Food Safety and Public Health Veterinarians – Oct. 19, 2022

Published: 21 February 2023



Virtual meeting, Oct. 19


Veterinarian of the Year

Dr. Vest
Dr. Kelly Vest

Dr. Kelly Vest (Oklahoma State ’87), Blackwell, Oklahoma, won this award, given each year in recognition of a veterinarian’s outstanding accomplishments in the fields of veterinary food safety and public health. Dr. Vest is a registered trainer in hazard analysis and critical control points and in the Safe Quality Food Program with the HACCP Consulting Group, where he is a vice president. Earlier in his career, he practiced in Blackwell and served 20 years in the Army Veterinary Corps. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, Dr. Vest is a past president of the AAFSPHV, now serving as the association’s treasurer.


The AAFSPHV provided members with an update on the organization’s work during the past year. The association sponsored symposia on food safety at the annual conventions of the AVMA and the United States Animal Health Association. Monthly continuing education webinars on food safety, one health, and public health are being provided in partnership with the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine and the National Association of Federal Veterinarians. Dr. Katherine Waters, executive vice president of the AAFSPHV, reported on membership and finances. Drs. Paulo Mohyla and Michele Pfannensteil, who represent the association on the AVMA Food Safety Advisory Committee and AVMA Legislative Advisory Committee, respectively, provided updates on the activities of those committees. Dr. Kristen Obbink, AAFSPHV delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates, also provided an update on her work with the HOD. The AAFSPHV is establishing the Dr. Daniel E. Lafontaine Memorial Scholarship, in honor of Dr. Lafontaine, a founding member of the association, who died Feb. 24, 2021. The scholarship will provide tuition support to students and veterinarians working on a veterinary or master’s degree with an emphasis on food safety and public health.


Dr. Demaree
Dr. Angela Demaree
Dr. Buckley
Dr. Chelsea Buckley

Drs. Angela Demaree, Indianapolis, president; Chelsea Buckley, Staunton, Virginia, president-elect; Catherine Alexander, Fort Collins, Colorado, recording secretary; Kelly Vest, Blackwell, Oklahoma, treasurer; Donna DeBonis, Oak Harbor, Washington, immediate past president; Katherine Waters, Denver, executive vice president and AVMA alternate delegate; Kristen Obbink, AVMA delegate; and directors—Drs. Leslie Brooks, Indianapolis; Van H. Brass II, Columbus, Ohio; Renee Funk, Atlanta; Mike Gilsdorf, Sykesville, Maryland; Will Sander, Urbana, Illinois; and Pamela Abney, Guntersville, Alabama